Management of SKW Stahl-Metallurgie Holding AG

The SKW Metallurgie Group is headed by SKW Stahl-Metallurgie Holding AG, with legal headquarters in München (Germany). It is a joint-stock corporation, whose shareholder structure is shown here. As is the law for German Aktiengesellschaften (joint-stock  companies), its leadership is dualistic.

The Supervisory Board is elected by the shareholders (in extraordinary circumstances, members can be appointed by the competent judge). In the case of SKW Stahl-Metallurgie Holding AG, there are no employee representatives in the Supervisory Board. The Supervisory Board appoints the Executive Board, currently consisting of one person.

Executive Board

Dr. Kay Michel has been CEO (Chief Executive Officer; Chairperson/Sole Member of the Executive Board) of SKW Stahl-Metallurgie Holding AG since April 1, 2014.

Dr. Kay Michel is business engineer and commands a long-standing track record in leading positions in industrial operative management as well as in an international efficiency improvement context. In the last 20 years, he has held central roles in complex business challenges, as well as in the strategic development of international companies. From 2003 to 2007, Dr. Kay Michel was instrumental in building the German business of the international consulting firm Alvarez & Marsal (A&M). Before that, he held leading positions at Philipp Holzmann AG, Krone AG, and Asea Brown Boveri AG; he commenced his career at Krupp Group where he worked at company, divisional and finally at group level.

As Sole Member of the Executive Board, Dr. Michel is responsible for all functions and departments incl. ESG.


Supervisory Board

Dr. Olaf Marx (Chairperson)  born 1966 –  Member of the Supervisory Board since 2016
Further information on Olaf Marx may be found here.

Dr. Eva Nase, who had been elected as member of the supervisory board on May 18, 2018, has resigned from office with effect as of July 10, 2018.


Tarun Somani – born 1960 – Member of the Supervisory Board since 2016
Further information on Tarun Somani may be found here.

Estanislao Urquijo- born 1963 - Member of the Supervisory Board since 2018 
Further information on Estanislao Urquijo may be found here.